28
Dec
08

Redneck Oud


2 Responses to “Redneck Oud”


  1. January 9, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Hey Otway,
    I just found an Oud sticking out of my Syrian neighbors trash can. It had a broken neck that I quickly repaired. It is missing three tuning pegs and the nut, otherwise perfect condition.
    Do you know where I can get parts?

  2. 2 O3
    January 9, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    What a find! it will look great for decor too.

    The oud Raidah, Mitch Lee’s wife brought back from mid-east she bought in Syria too but it was made in Iraq. It stayed in tune all of ten minutes, enough for me to make that mpeg. If the tuning pegs aren’t made of a hard wood like ebony they won’t hold a tune. You need to find a violin repair guy to set it up for you. If the pegs you got now are ebony you won’t have to spend much. I even tried to use the paste and that didn’t work. There are different styles of tuning, which I have forgotten, but it’s all on the net.
    I think it’s worth getting it playable they are way cool and who knows you may start playing for some belly dancer’s, the possibilites are endless.

    You’ll always have a interesting wallhanger or prop for photos.

    I’m really looking foward to your photographs of it (hopefully not on ebay)!

    Send or post soon! wish you had gotten a shot of it in neighbor’s trash. When he see’s the bellydancers visiting you I guess he’ll be sorry for tossing it.


Leave a comment


1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

December 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031