01
Oct
08

Matuschka (NBCAM)

Mostly known for her self-portraits and her chameleon-like performance before her own camera lens, Matuschka works in a variety of formats including sculpture, painting and film. Although the artist is most known for work that raises questions about identity, power, and sexuality in an image driven society – her less political work is presented in her abstract paintings and PhotoShop compositions.

A new book entitled “Bagit!” published by HardPress Editions will be released in 2008. For more information please visit the artist¹s website at www.matuschka.net


4 Responses to “Matuschka (NBCAM)”


  1. July 3, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    hello there!
    curious who you are and where I was when this picture was taken?

    I am intrigued
    thanks for putting this up
    please get back to me when you can

    sincerely
    Matuschka

    • 2 O3
      July 4, 2009 at 2:38 pm

      The picture was taken in a gallery in Richmond way back when? with my wife, We have your WHAM! poster autographed by you hanging in our living room still today.

      Thank god for Photoshop at our reading glasses age, I don’t think I could survive the darkroom now (although those were good day’s). The fact you can take a snapshop camera picture now that is close to the old 8×10 format camera resolution is almost unreal.

      This blog is just sort of an archive of my photos,art,interest,collages,and etc. I quit exhibiting in museums and galleries decades ago. So I guess this is just current passions.

  2. July 3, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    don’t know if you got my first message but I’m resending it again
    thanks for putting me up
    and I”m curious who you are
    and where this pic of me was taken?

    oh, so long ago!

    fondly
    Matuschka

  3. January 10, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Well now I remember the situation
    how times flies
    even this response is far too late

    stay in touch if you like
    glad to know you still have my poster

    I should be coming out with a big book soon
    a little one was published last year
    unfortunately it was a little press and the Publisher died before Christmas
    so I’m left with the distribution
    even though it retails for $35.00 I’m selling it for $20.00 which includes shipping
    here is a link to it, but it is not being sold with the ‘rope’ attached any longer
    thanks

    http://matuschka.net/buyBagit.html


Leave a comment


1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031