25
Sep
11

Not Blue


This is pretty much how I have been feeling lately. The Blue series was started to keep me from expressing in writing what I have been feeling, which my wife says would just be considered sour grapes. So in the continuing in the spirit of life presenting you with lemons, you make lemonade.


I’m somewhat limited to vista’s but never tire of this great building near by.

The sunset popped for about a minute, but didn’t really set up for it, auto just didn’t cut it for what I was really seeing.

15 Responses to “Not Blue”


  1. September 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    i have been feeling the same way. not sure if it’s the weather or my age? my motto of late is to just keep putting one foot in front of the other….thats if i can make myself get out of bed. cheer up old man and i will try to also.

    • 2 O3
      September 26, 2011 at 2:36 pm

      I had a dream about Taoism last night that has cheered me up after a week of nightmares. Living in a sea of bad vibes gets to me sometimes. I’ve met alot of positive people of late, that has been helpful, but ones I’ve barely known that have done the most direct damage in our personal life has caused some pretty high anxiety. My own misgivings added to the mix turns the screw a little tighter. I am however on a roll creating and actually feel ill when I’m not. It would be nice to turn back the clock to sitting on a bar stool down the street with a bunch of Joe six-packs (who were surprisingly sensitive).

      It’s no secret I love these fronts, so the days getting shorter is probably it. Of course there is alot more that would certainly be sour grapes. I do believe I have been positive with my suffering and probably should have said nothing, but regarding our age. It sure does feel more intense!

  2. 3 boatdog
    September 26, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    It is possible to succeed at being happy by deciding to be happy! At least that’s what I do, and it works almost all the time. Fool yourself into envisioning yourself as happy and confident for long enough and eventually you will begin to believe it! Works for me anyway.

    • 4 boatdog
      September 26, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      It also seems to help to have few expectations and to feel that you are ready to lose big or die at any time, which may also be a form of self-trickery, but ,again… works for me.

    • 5 O3
      September 26, 2011 at 2:47 pm

      Thanks, I’m snapping out of it, and also, I owe being a avid cloud photographer to my my mothers memory by calling attention to look at them through the years when ever she had a chance to mention it. She did seem to declare alot of things.

      Got a great link to a 19th century photographer that became quite known for his cloud photos :

      Gustave Le Gray

      Gustave Le Gray (1820–1884) is known as the most important French photographer of the nineteenth century because of his technical innovations in the still new medium of photography, his role as the teacher of other noted photographers, and the extraordinary imagination he brought to picture making.

      Because of the limitations of photographic materials at the time, it was extremely difficult to capture both sea and sky in a single image. By combining two negatives—one for the foreground water and another for the clouds—Le Gray triumphed. This use of combination printing was not criticized when he exhibited his seascapes, although it is unlikely that he hung finished images utilizing the same negative for the sky in each adjacent to one other, so perhaps it went undetected. More important was the harmonious union produced by his innovative technique, which he originally invented for landscapes with overexposed skies.

      http://www.getty.edu/art/exhibitions/le_gray/

  3. September 26, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    yep,what boat dog says…get out of bed and just do it. it seems to work. watching less news also helps.just sayin.

    • 7 boatdog
      September 26, 2011 at 6:52 pm

      Ha, yeah, we recently canceled our TV service. That helps too.

      • 8 O3
        September 26, 2011 at 7:28 pm

        I’ve only had antennae TV which with the HD is all you really need. Why people have paid to watch commercials has always mythed me( I do know on occasion there is brilliant programming that I have missed).
        My mother in law who lives in the mountains has satellite which charges extra for HD and you have to have an extra dish to receive? Her son didn’t believe me when I told him that it wasn’t an HD picture we were looking at.
        Seeing the Bowman Body this past week end brought back some wonderful analog memories. Late night TV is getting harder to do these days but the X-files filled the void for Shock Theater for awhile. Now HOUSE is a favorite but they have changed that recently. FRINGE is brilliant that is destined to be a late night filler in the future.
        I love reading history and Bio’s and leave the fiction for movies and TV. Reality and autopsy shows have done a great job of queering it for me though.

        ‘C’est la vie’

  4. 9 boatdog
    September 27, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Yep. I’ve been reading a lot of history also. It tends to support the idea that, as bad as it may seem at times, it’s a lot better than it might have been if we lived in the 13th century. Just sayin’

  5. 10 boatdog
    September 27, 2011 at 12:36 am

    Hey – this video of our friend Bryan Bowers might cheer you up!

      • 12 boatdog
        September 27, 2011 at 11:59 am

        Bryan Bowers is a great musician and story teller who embarrassed me at the last “In Your Ear” concert I attended by making me weep openly because of the emotional content of his songs and stories. It didn’t help that he closed his set with “Will the Circle Be Unbroken” which always takes me back to the night my father died.

        Bryan talks about how he loves “speck of dust moments” – times when he feels totally insignificant (or at least not self-important) in the Universe. I think the “Bristlecone Pine” song (which he did not write) expresses that feeling for him.

  6. 13 O3
    September 27, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Althea’s mother knows all the mountain lore and happily shares it. Here is a place at high elevation that we were at, at dusk. Old trees and sacred places aren’t that easy to get too but really feed your soul. Not sure where your going in the Caribbean but look forward to your pictures of such things!

    https://otway.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/the-cubist-mountains/


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

