18
Jun
11

Vegan Fest 2011

Khalima had a very enthusiastic non scheduled performer with her today. I got over sensitive whether to post these photographs.
O3 : I hope the photo and video wasn’t too Diane Arbus. You were really kind to him.
Khalima : I love Diane Arbus. She’s always been a favorite, and it’s ok to document exactly what you see. He was a sweet fella having a good time. 🙂

3 Responses to “Vegan Fest 2011”


  1. 1 boatdog
    June 20, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    These are extraordinary. I wish I could have been there.

  2. 2 O3
    June 20, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    About a year ago I was having brunch with my one Arab friend that knew I had been wanting to photograph a belly dancer for a long time and had offered to take me to Northern Va. where she has alot of family that went to restaurants up there that had great family oriented events involving belly dancing. Last time she had visited her folks in Jordan I had requested a belly dancing calendar, but she brought back an Oud which is another story. During brunch she mentioned Barry and the Happy Lucky Combo were playing at the Forest Hill Farmers Market with a dancer that day. Althea and I shot over that day and met Khalima for the first time and I have been hooked on photographing her ever since. I had been doing panoramas for a while and this type dancer fits so naturally in them that it all makes sense to me. Khalima has made it easy to enjoy having a muse when sometimes I feel like I’m creeping myself out by photographing her too much. Althea really likes her too and Khalima would be the age of daughter if we had one. So all is good!

  3. June 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    ❤ ❤ <3. You do awesome stuff Otway, and you and Althea are tops!


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

