14
Jun
11

BIG Water


Arthur Stephens portrait of the Salty Dog photographing the largest rapid on the city stretch of the fall line. Arthur also helped pull out a couple that were nearly sucked down this fall. I was behind Arthur ready to grab him who I was more concerned about than foolish people being unsafe on this mighty river.

z

11 Responses to “BIG Water”


  1. 1 O3
    June 14, 2011 at 11:54 am

    When I was younger I lifted weights to be able to hang in the Big Water and I really loved it, respected it, and considered it to be my element. It saddens me when people are careless with fire, air, water, or earth. They are the real spiritual realm of our being not the other superstitious doctrines that man also abuses to control humanity.

  2. 2 O3
    June 14, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Just saw this wonderful ad on television during the news that really blew me away.

  3. June 16, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    and basketball players make how much money/

  4. 4 O3
    June 16, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    Yeah, sometimes life doesn’t seem all that fair. I know I’m starting to feel like an old lemon from desperately trying to make lemonade from lemons. Wonder what kind of ad campaign they will have for engineers. This ad did make my day after all the usual stupidity we endure.

    Regarding the young couple that nearly got swept away, I apologized to them for not being more help with my frozen shoulder (most people don’t have a clue what that is) and bad knee. I had quit taking photos and was just praying we weren’t going to have to see them go through that water.

    I seem to remember a story of you falling off a raft in really bigger water out west?

    • 5 O3
      June 18, 2011 at 12:47 am

      p.s. Speaking of “water over the dam” here’s a wonderful picture of our mutual friend and probably one of my last voyages in my scuba canoe to Boshers Dam. I think of her fondly whenever I crave pesto chicken, what a wonderful and creative cook.

    • June 20, 2011 at 5:48 pm

      that was really cold river. the look on kb’s face when i was hauled into the raft…i will never forget
      how is the girl in the river below?

      • 7 O3
        June 20, 2011 at 6:14 pm

        Have forgotten that KB was on that raft trip, will have to ask him about that raft trip in the Grand Canyon???

        Haven’t seen our friend since you guys trip to Egypt (really ancient history, chuckle). Sometimes when Al is being mean to me she says shes leaving for Egypt too.

  5. 8 O3
    June 18, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    Getting ready to go to Vegan Fest but am eating lunch and watching Rick Bayless who I consider a genius of good vibes in our lifetime whose love of food, etc. reflects this.

  6. 9 O3
    June 22, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Around 7:30 p.m. on June 13, local photographer Arthur Stephens was on Belle Isle taking sunset shots of the river with a buddy, Otway Chalkley. He saw a couple in the water nearby, a man and woman holding each other tightly.

    Stephens thought they were having a romantic moment. Then he saw the woman’s terrified face. “Right away, I knew,” he says.

    Friends of the couple ran up and pulled the woman out. The man tried to brace his feet against rocks, but he was being swept into the rapids. The photographers joined the rescue effort. “It took several tries to get him,” Stephens says. “His body kept twisting around.”

    Finally, they were able to haul the man out. Both people were bruised and battered. “You saved our lives,” the woman told Stephens. She said they simply got swept up in the current and pulled downriver.

    The water was just over 4 feet at the Westham Gauge.

    http://www.styleweekly.com/richmond/the-river-wild/Content?oid=1534089

    and it wasn’t sunset shots. I had taken TAS to river specifically to shoot this picture. Man am I chopped liver and TAS is the Hero. Who said life was fair. Oh well at least these kids survived………

  7. 10 jmsayles
    June 22, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    it was the colorado but way north of the grand canyon, north of vail towards steamboat.

  8. June 23, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I remember that trip down the colorado very well. Especially the part where we hit the big rapid and in one moment you were ejected through the air and into the icy river. All you could say afterward was that you were glad it happened cause you’d have a good to tell.


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

