29
May
11

Back in Your Own Backyard

A favorite creature that won’t last long out back with our 3 cats. Got lucky and got it in a Groundhog pose.

WORDPRESS has seemed to have made some changes thats thrown me for a loop???


Althea took this last combined photo.

My SMITH -VICTOR light from the 70’s redesigned with the Al Gore bulb that pulls low electricity and doesn’t get hot. Big thanks to John Moser for a key part,  a sculptor and metal worker that has built sailing yachts and much more.

A scarab on our Bug Cafe table on deck out back.

 

8 Responses to “Back in Your Own Backyard”


  1. 1 O3
    May 29, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    The laws of nature seem so unfair sometimes, my buddy from yesterday was brought to the back door as a gift a couple of times before he was deceased by our otherwise loving felines.

    I’m only able to do rough cuts with my quiktime videos since I’m a Windows user. Really wish I could be a consultant for these camera makers.

  2. 2 O3
    May 29, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    I’m missing the mountains this weekend but this great old Al Jolson song should be appreciated by those trying to conserve or feel the need to always be a Mexican jumping bean.

  3. 4 boatdog
    May 30, 2011 at 7:31 am

    I didn’t know what a “Smith Victor” lamp was until I saw the picture. I have two of those if you need more.

  4. 5 O3
    May 30, 2011 at 9:19 am

    The 68w=300w Al Gore bulb at Home Depot is 15 dollars for those that give a dam and you have to get a extension to make it work.

    http://www.smithvictor.com/products/index.asp

    • 6 boatdog
      May 30, 2011 at 9:29 am

      I give a damn, but need more help. Is it really called the “Al Gore Bulb” or can you be more specific? I have been converting to all LED lighting with bulbs from Lowes, but have yet to see anything in the 300W (effective output) range. I need something really bright like this for the cathedral project I’m working on. Curious minds….

      • 7 David James
        May 30, 2011 at 11:43 am

        When I didn’t want to spend big bucks for lights I would buy the old movie bulbs that people use to use for their 8mm filming. They worked great and were pretty inexpensive on Ebay. In most cases you can get all four bulbs and the light bar in those auctions.

  5. 8 O3
    May 30, 2011 at 10:03 am

    I haven’t fully tested yet and since I included in the photos its hard to tell since your not really getting a picture how it truly lights from behind it. It’s the biggest light bulb they have and feel free to borrow anytime the whole light. I call all the new (florescent) curly cue bulbs, Al Gore bulbs (chuckle).


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

