09
May
11

La Milpa (Real Mexican Food & Market)

Althea and I met Martin Gonzalez over a decade ago at our local mexican market and instantly liked him. He had done traditional events in the parking lot that I haven’t seen the likes of since in the westend. He moved to the southside and sadly we lost track,  La Milpa is located on 6925 Hull St. Rd.  This  production I ran across on YouTube today excited me so much I had to pay him a visit to hopefully be informed of future events. I can’t wait to take Althea over to eat. Don’t take my word for it, Google the reviews of this wonderful Market!

Martin shows me the location of the upcoming deck.

7 Responses to “La Milpa (Real Mexican Food & Market)”


  1. 2 David James
    May 11, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    I am so glad to see that you have posted a couple of my Aztec Ceremonial videos that I filmed at La Milpa. Today, I saw Martin and he told me about your website. I really like it and your other videos, as well as, your photos look fantastic. Hopefully, soon we’ll have an opportunity to meet each other and maybe we can collaborate on some projects together.
    Dave James

  2. 3 O3
    May 12, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    WONDERFUL! I’ll really look forward to. I wanted to photograph more while I was there but wanted to gain some trust so I could get some more relaxed photos.It may be closer to two decades that I have seen Martin. The videos really blew me away and hope more people will notice them.

    Look forward to meeting you!

  3. 4 Barry Bless
    May 15, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Otway,
    I’ve been going here for years. Last time was with Pippin and Dave after a gig. I got a tostada with “beef”. The beef was the gelatinous tendons from the cows leg. Now I have two foods I don’t like… sea urchin is the other.
    I had no idea they had these events. The Gourd Orchestra used to perform every year with indigenous Mexican musicians. For me these videos are reminiscent of that.
    bb

  4. 5 Dave James
    May 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Barry…I am one of your FB friends and the other day Martin and I were discussing some business. Martin, Juan Salinas, and I are partners on a particular project that involves getting the word out to non-Hispanics about Martin’s efforts to reach the community. The Hispanic community already knows about Martin and one thing that I am particularly aware of is his humanitarian efforts toward everyone. I will talk to Martin about getting you all to play at one of his events that shows off the Mexican culture to everyone. I was going to try to film your group at the Science Museum last year, but due to illness I could not make it.

  5. 6 Barry Bless
    May 15, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Let me know Dave. I’m sure we could get a lot of our people out…

  6. 7 Dave James
    May 15, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    The beef was the gelatinous tendons from the cows leg. Sometimes I think my Spanish is pretty good, but one time my wife and I stopped by La Adelita which is a restaurant on Broad Rock Blvd. that Martin use to own. I remember ordering a meal and the waitress seemed not to understand what I ordered. I repeated several times what I wanted. Now here is where the miscommunication started. When she brought the meal I began to eat it and knew immediately that this was something I didn’t want to eat. It turned out that it was cow’s stomach parts…man, this was awful. As I have learned this is something the Latinos really like. Now, I am always careful and make sure that this is something I am not ordering!!


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

