12
Apr
11

Sleeping Giant

I was worried last month when I saw the crane hanging over the west building. I was born in this art deco wonder.

                       

3 Responses to “Sleeping Giant”


  1. 1 jmsayles
    April 12, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    25 years ago I worked at MCV and I still, now and then have dreams about the place. Often I am trying to get from one hospital building to another, am lost or wandering. A few years ago I had such a vivid dream about working there, I was in the old west hospital trying to find the RT office. I can still remember most of the dream. It is the only hospital that I have worked in that has haunted me like that.

    • 2 O3
      April 12, 2011 at 11:29 pm

      When I was a kid MCV terrified me because of all the amputee’s that seemed to be everywhere in the halls. My great grandfather G.P. Chalkley lost his leg in Pickett’s charge at Gettysburg so it was something I felt in my bones I believe.

      I like the fact the older skyscrapers actually had working windows. To say what I think of most architecture today would just get me in trouble but not building things to last and treasure seems shallow. I’ve been looking at Stieglitz’s pictures of the early skyscrapers in NYC (really beautiful). What gets me about our city is bad architecture is surrounding some of this city’s treasures.

      David Letterman describes it best, “Corporate Weasels”.


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

