16
Dec
10

16:9

16:9 is the international standard format of HDTV, it fits all HDTV programming perfectly.The standard TV that’s been around since the mid-50s has an aspect ratio of 4:3. That means the picture is 4 units wide for every three units of height. Meanwhile, the new HDTV standard is 16:9, which is 16 units of width for every 9 units of height. So HDTV’s 16:9 is a rectangle that is, relatively speaking, horizontally wider than older TVs, which by comparison look almost square.

My camera has a 16:9 setting for photos that I’ve just started to use that should fill the screen for all you wide screen PC users. This picture should work? Below are panos from 16:9 images……..

6 Responses to “16:9”


  1. 1 boatdog
    December 16, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Wow. Aspect ratio. Who knew?

  2. 2 Arthur
    December 17, 2010 at 9:42 am

    I espect Ray show

  3. 3 boatdog
    December 17, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    The only time I really feel the aspect ratio thing is when I watch SNL on my 4:3 TV. I think SNL must be shot in widescreen, because there are a lot of times when the scenes appear cut off at the margins. …or it could be something having to do with sloppy camera work on live TV???

    • 4 O3
      December 17, 2010 at 4:16 pm

      I get the over the air signal which is a true picture. Cable and Satellite compress their signal which I’m not sure how informed they keep their clients, not very well from what I’ve seen. Larry is our only friend that knew how to view way before any of us cared about this. Movies have a even more range of ratio’s that usually make the average viewer give up. I can tell you now if you are still using a square TV, if you are not seeing bars at top and bottom all the time your not seeing 16:9 which everything is being broadcast now. My TV has all the viewing modes by number, but I’ve noticed some TV’s don’t bother since they probably don’t think the public is bright enough. They will have wide,super wide, pano, or etc. If you have s–t for brains that’s probably a good tv for you. I like seeing things the way they are designed to look so having a 16:9 setting is the way to go. Now if only the DVD’s would be more clear on the movies ratio. Most of the time I just give up and put it on panos for them.

      Not sure how long I will stay with this 16:9 photograph mode but it’s interesting and since it is so misunderstood, I guess a positive thing.

      p.s. let me know if the first photo fits the widescreen pc ok?

      • 5 boatdog
        December 17, 2010 at 6:14 pm

        The pic fits but I’ve only looked at it inside the browser.

        We have an old TV and I don’t know if it even has aspect ratio adjustments. Maybe I’ll check. I’d like to get in on the wide screen, flat screen bandwagon for my TV watching, but what little money I have to dispose of goes more in the direction of music and art. TV sucks anyway. I wish I could quit it (cue the Brokeback Mountain soundtrack).

  4. 6 O3
    December 17, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    It will be your cable box adjustment. Call their help line if you dare. It is nice using the full screen, maybe you should just leave it alone…

    Found these cool pictures of old local movie house’s :

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/40433497@N05/page4/


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

