07
Dec
10

Frozen shoulder (adhesive capsulitis)

I had a chance to get out in the long shadows today but aggravated my frozen shoulder while in the james river park. When this happens I nearly blackout from pain for a couple of minutes. When I was on the interstate before the funeral this past weekend throwing the toll in the booth in my suit nearly did me in. The pain from this condition is unbelievable and I’ve survived some pretty serious physical trauma in my lifetime. I was also having some problems while hugging people at the funeral and had to grimace and bear it, people just don’t understand a big burley man being injured with out a cast.  Today I nearly black-out at the river from twisting the wrong way going down a hill in the brush and still feel bad. I’ve had a cortisone shot for this that lasted a couple of weeks (won’t do that again). A reflexoligist gave me some exercises to do, but today I guess because of the cold has been a bad day.

Frozen Shoulder Syndrome

“Current conventional treatment includes anti-inflammatory drugs, cortisone injection, and surgical manipulation under anesthetic. There is no guarantee the patient will see any results with these treatments. If they do, it is often limited.”

This photo cheered me up for an unfunny condition, reminds me of a pose from a life drawing class. The photo is from this website :

 

8 Responses to “Frozen shoulder (adhesive capsulitis)”


  1. 1 Old friend Sarah
    December 8, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Sounds pretty rough. Have you tried the method from that site Frozenshoulder.com? It looks promising. Here is an interview with the guy who developed it –
    http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art35162.asp

    Wishing you swift healing!
    Sarah

    • 2 O3
      December 8, 2010 at 12:20 am

      This is probably the least of our ordeal this past year has presented us. We continue to make lemonade from lemons and persevere on.

      THANKS, any comment here is helpful…

  2. 3 boatdog
    December 8, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Hey burley man. It gets better with time. My left shoulder was a world of pain for two years and is now completely normal again with no treatment, exercise or therapy of any kind. Now I’ve got it in the right shoulder but that seems to be taking a similar course. You are right about the pain level. Freaky!

    • 4 O3
      December 8, 2010 at 1:21 am

      Or maybe it should be gurley man since women mostly have this condition? I think it may have been the 3 feet I muscled down a hedge last summer or canoeing in a bad posture in that wreck of canoe? Man I love to canoe and since you are an advid canoeist I hope that wasn’t the case???

      • 5 boatdog
        December 8, 2010 at 6:23 pm

        Years ago, KB used to like to remind me that one day I would no longer be able to lift my canoe on top of my truck by myself. Well, the day came about a year ago, but now I can do it again, with a bit of pain. I’m working on some canoe lifting aid devices that I may try to market through the AARP. Meanwhile, life goes on (for now).

  3. 6 Brian Vick
    December 8, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Important tip for canoeists w/shoulder issues: t-r-o-l-l-i-n-g motor. Granted, you have to carry a 30 lb. battery, keep it charged, bang it into rocks, etc., but it definitely minimizes shoulder rotation.

  4. 7 O3
    December 9, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Here is a quote I love to use that exemplifies our youth before all this geriatrics.

    We ride with kings on mighty steeds
    across the Devil’s plain…

    Jack Black

  5. 8 jsayles
    December 14, 2010 at 9:31 am

    hey, i had the same problem for about 2 years and it went away. all i ddid was stretch it by standing near a wall with my hand up on the wall,i would push my body to the wall and gently stretch it. i dove off our boat one time when my shoulder was bad and nearly passed out in the water from the pain. my husband almost jumped in after me. screaming pain! mine also just went away slowly. you might want to try following an anti-inflamatory diet for awhile to see if that helps.


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

