06
Nov
10

Connecticut on the James (Unveiling Ceremony)

Apesanahkwat, Menomiee Tribe of Wisconsin : I’m still pondering the words of this man.

Ron Warren, Echota Cherokee.

A train passes overhead as Paul begins to speak.

Buffalo Child : Hoop Dance. Circle of Life…….

360 view

9 Responses to “Connecticut on the James (Unveiling Ceremony)”


  1. 1 forgotten but not gone
    November 8, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    What were the words of that man?

    • 2 O3
      November 9, 2010 at 9:32 am

      Apesanahkwat the elder tribes member (Menominee Tribe of Wisconcin) at the ceremony. Spoke of the evolution of the Indian, the land, art and etc. It was alot to digest. He spoke for a long time and when he was through, I felt that I could have listened to him much more. I’d never heard anything like it before. All the Native Americans in their music and dance were heart felt and I felt humbled to be able to be attending this event.

      The odd part was the event was being held on beautiful land littered with the history of our industrial revolution. Probably one of the first ship locks, a railroad bridge overhead, and a tobacco warehouse with a huge smokestack that the sculpture Connecticut sits atop (restored beautifully by the Odell Associates).

      I’ve always had a fondness for this sculpture Connecticut and am happy it has found such a great home.

      http://www.vahistorical.org/research/tacl_connecticut_detail.htm

  2. 6 jmsayles
    November 9, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    I’m reading Croatoan,Birthplace of America. It is a wonderful history of the first English who landed in Hatteras (ie Croatoan) and the different tribes they encountered. It also talks about the erroneous myth of the Lost Colony who weren’t really lost,they were in Hatteras!I met the guy who wrote the book this summer while I was staying in Buxton. Cool Hatteras Dude!I want to read more about east coast Indians now.

  3. November 10, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Otway’s photos are unlike any and surpass all. (Period).
    I am touched by “03”‘s comments.
    Sorry it was difficult for all to hear Apesanakwat’s speech… but I’m glad he did and even happier to be connected to the UTUBE source.
    Thank you.
    P. DiP
    PS Otway, I need to talk with you about use of one or several of your outstanding photos.

    • 8 O3
      November 10, 2010 at 11:44 am

      Paul I don’t mind people using my photos unless they are printed or used for commercial use for profit, I guess I follow the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

      With this native american theme going, how could anybody own an image anyway, chuckle…Alot of my stuff ends up on facebook which is ok with me unless facebook thinks it owns it.

      Enjoy!

      p.s. I know they are meeting tonight about the fate of the Mayo Bridge. The day you were taking Connecticut down at Diamond I was on my way over and when I saw the clouds, I zipped downtown instead and took these photos.

      https://otway.wordpress.com/2010/09/20/pont-mayo-redux/

      • 9 O3
        November 11, 2010 at 11:52 am

        The production and concept of Red Warrior Films is so well done I’m surprised it hasn’t been viewed more? The original site for RedWarriorFilms I can’t seem to find either?? There are two more videos of Apesanahkwat that don’t seem to be on the page but are out there if you google him.

        The pow wow is also in town this weekend, which website is on myspace :

        http://www.myspace.com/powwow4life


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

