24
Aug
09

CNB Building

pano CNB

“Richmond’s only true art-deco skyscraper, the Central National Bank Building (CNB) is an impressive piece of work and craftsmanship. Upon completion, it was the tallest building in the city. No longer occupied, the CNB has yet to find a suitable use due to its small floor plans. While occupied by the CNB, a unique neon sign rested on top of the tower that changed colors according to the forecast for the next day. Currently, the structure is owned by the Ukrops family, who have tentative plans to renovate the structure.”

 

Architect, builder, or engineer: Eberson,John

4 Responses to “CNB Building”


  1. August 25, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Truly the best photograph of this building I’ve ever seen.

  2. 2 O3
    August 25, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    There are alot better photo’s of this great old skyscraper. I’m going to keep on trying to get the shot I was thinking of. The inside of the top part has a charm like no other modern building has in town and to be able to open the windows is awesome. It’s sad to see this part of downtown turn into a waste land. It really is misguided that the new downtown is Short Pump which was farm land a decade ago. They don’t let land get butchered like this in England and Europe. Our republic seems to be on the downside now because of our greed and stupidity.

  3. 3 boatdog
    August 26, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    I once dangled from the top floor of this building by a single piece of hemp rope. I was working for Talley Neon at the time and we were cutting the remains of the old CFB lettering off the side of the building. I was working the acetylene torch, cutting off the last pieces of steel from the side of the building. The hemp rope was about 3/4″ diameter, very old, very questionable. Once over the side of the building, I couldn’t get back over the parapet wall to safety without the help of my partner, Dennis, who was an alcoholic who lived in the old trailer park that was behind Talley Neon at the time. So, after hanging over the side, scared shitless for about 45 minutes, I finally got my work done and called for Dennis to assist. But there was no answer. 15 more minutes or so went by and then the weasel poked his head over the side and said he had been away on a smoke break.

    Maybe this should have been posted to the worst work places part of the muse?

  4. 4 O3
    August 26, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    I had a street person talking in my right ear as I was shooting the pano telling me about the letters and what they meant about weather changes. He finally hit me up for money to buy a fish sandwich across the street. Wish I could have helped him out, it sounded good, all I had was a debit card so I had to decline helping him. This area was my Dad’s livelihood back when, it sort of made me sad.
    My next pano may be the Egyptian Building and I’m haunted by a mural that I saw as a kid in the dome of the interior of Monumental Church that I haven’t been able to find anything about. It had a strange impact on me when I was young. I’m really curious if it’s still there and as awesome as I remembered it???


Leave a Reply

1984 Computer portrait from State Fair

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

